Old Mutual Victory Race 3rd leg in Keetmanshoop

11 Jul 2013 12:10
WINDHOEK, 11 JUL (NAMPA) ? The third leg of the 2013 Old Mutual Victory Series takes place at Keetmanshoop in the Karas Region on Saturday.
The race will start and end at the Keetmanshoop Sports Stadium, and will feature athletes from Namibia, Botswana and Angola.
The series consists of four legs, of which the first took place in Oshakati on 01 June and the second in Swakopmund on 22 June.
The fourth and final race will take place in Windhoek on 27 July.
This is the 13th year the Victory Races take place, with main sponsor Old Mutual injecting N.dollars 500 000 into the race this year.
Old Mutual Namibia?s Corporate Transformation Consultant, Revonia Kahivere told Nampa on enquiry Thursday the number of participants for the Keetmanshoop event will only be determined on race day.
The runners will participate in a 5 kilometre (km) fun run, or the more serious 21km race.
Some top local athletes expected to take part are Helalia Johannes, Almas Alina, Nangula Ekandjo, Sarti Ishitile in the women?s category, and Shimon Shipingana, Pinehas, Pinehas Embashu and Reonard Namupala in the men?s category.
The two defending champions are Helalia Johannes and Johannes Naitembu in the 21km women's and men's categories, respectively.
Helalia Johannes has been dominating her category for the past three years.
According to Kahivere, the race has many benefits for local athletes since it is a platform to showcase their talent, while it also develops long-distance athletes at grassroots level.
?The Swakomund and Windhoek routes were measured by a professional route measurer, which means the athletes don?t have to travel outside the country to participate in road-running events to qualify for national athletic events. Athletes can also use their prize money for personal expenses,? she said.
All winners from the first to fifth place get prize money, depending on the distance and category.
The club and company with the most entries will receive N.dollars 2 000, while the school with the most entries will walk away with a laptop computer and race entry fees from Keetmanshoop.
For athletes to qualify for the overall prizes they have to meet some requirements such as having participated in one outside race (Oshakati, Swakopmund or Keetmanshoop) before the compulsory one in Windhoek.
The overall prizes are N.dollars 15 000, 10 000 and 5 000 from first to third place.
The male and female winners also qualify for an all-expenses paid trip to the Old Mutual Two Oceans Marathon in Cape Town in 2014.
Two junior bursaries to the value of N.dollars 12 000 each will also be awarded.
In Swakopmund, Helalia Johannes won the women?s race over 21km in a time of one hour and 09 minutes and 45 seconds (1:09.45), while the male category was won by Mynhard Kauanivi in a time of 1:04.01.
In the veterans? category, Sieglinde Gontes came first in the women?s race, while Jerobeam Amunyoko won the men?s category.