Eenhana gets first Junior Council

08 Jul 2013 08:10
ONGWEDIVA, 08 JUL (NAMPA) - The northern town of Eenhana in the Ohangwena Region last week joined other towns in Namibia by establishing its first-ever Junior Council.
Eenhana mayor Julia Shikongo inaugurated the Junior Council in the presence of her fellow town councillors and some members of the junior council of Ongwediva led by its junior mayor Rosalia Iita.
Speaking at the inauguration event, Shikongo said the establishment of the junior council is part of her town?s implementation of its strategic plan, which focuses on community engagement and participation in decision-making, and ultimately shaping the future of the town.
?The Eenhana Junior Council will serve for two years. It will serve as a platform and create a better understanding of the role and functions of the town council,? Shikongo pointed out.
She further explained that the Junior Council will also serve as a platform for the creation of better understanding of local issues and governance, provide opportunities for the youth to raise issues pertaining them, exchange ideas, discuss community issues and provide input into council?s planning, programmes and services.
?It will also provide an opportunity for the young people to define strategies and develop important skills that include communication, consultation, leadership and project development as they are our future leaders,? the Eenhana Mayor noted.
Edwarde Naikaku from the local Haimbili Haufiku Senior Secondary School (SSS) is the inaugural junior mayor of Eenhana, and he is to be deputised by Rakel Nampolo from Eenhana Primary School (PS).
The junior chief executive officer portfolio went to Sebuloni Shuudeni from the Eenhana Secondary School (SS) and Julia Shikongo also from Eenhana SS is the junior council?s secretary, while the deputy secretary is Emma Naulindu from the Eenhana Vocational Training Centre (EVTC).
Anna Mutwa from Haimbili Haufiku SSS and Ineekela Ashipala from Paulus Hamutenya PS are the junior council?s public relations officer (PRO) and deputy PRO, respectively.
The City of Windhoek, Walvis Bay, Otjiwarongo, Ongwediva and Oshakati are some of the towns where junior councils have been established in Namibia.