Mutorwa to decide Meatco board

07 Jul 2013 14:00

Meatco says it has sent names of the proposed Board of Directors to the Minister of Agriculture, Water and Forestry, John Mutorwa.
Meatco says Mutorwa will have to make a final decision on who will make it into the board that will serve until 2016, according to Mario Poolman, Meatco’s corporate communication and marketing manager in a press statement last Friday.
The new proposed members were nominated by secret ballot for transparency and credibility on 21 June.
The process was monitored by the current Meatco Board and company secretary Nico Weck as well as PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC), the corporation’s external auditors.
Six of the nominated people – Charles Utib, Uaisana Mbapaha, Peter Kazongominja, Isreal Hukura, Ngoree Kandando and Tsukhoe //Gawases - will represent the interests of communal farmers. 
Those who will represent commercial farmers are Diethelm Metzger, Clara Bohitile, Frank Heger, Gottfried Uaendere Edith Seifart and Egbert Hoff.
Eight others nominated for their expertise in abattoir management, livestock trading and products are Martin Hilbert, Clara Bohitile, Diethelm Metzger, Babette Stock, Harold Erasmus, Martha Namundjebo-Tilahun, Johannes Hamman; and Ronald Kubas.
Israel Ngangane, Abuid Tjipangandjara, Joseph Shiningila and Leo Shaanika were nominated to represent Meatco employees’ interests.
“Meatco members were given the opportunity to vote for individuals to represent the interests of communal farmers, commercial farmers, as well as individuals possessing expertise in the management of abattoirs, trading of livestock and livestock products or any business or financial sphere,” Poolman says in the statement.
Currently, the Meatco board is made of Clara Bohitile; Martin Hilbert; Sophia Kasheeta; Paulina Kujandeka; Ripanda Meroro; Arne Gressmann; and Matthew Shikongo.