Ohangwena NSSU elects new exco members

10 Mar 2014 18:40pm
ONGWEDIVA, 10 MAR (NAMPA) – The Namibia School Sport Union (NSSU) congress for the Ohangwena Region which took place at Eenhana on Friday re-elected Vaino Shimutwikeni as regional chairperson.
This will be Shimutwikeni’s third consecutive office term. He is to be deputised by Patricia Kaheka.
Speaking to Nampa on Monday, Shimutwikeni expressed satisfaction with his re-election and commended the NSSU members for continuing to entrust him with the administration of school sports in the region.
Also re-elected during the congress was Handrick Kabozu, who is the region’s NSSU secretary-general.
The congress was aimed at electing members for the new executive committee (exco) of the Ohangwena NSSU.
It also elected Ruwa Domingos as the regional treasurer, while Hendrick Kaimbi and Mathew Shikongo are the two additional members of the exco, which will be in charge of school sports affairs in the region for the next three years.
“Paid up school members were represented at the congress by two representatives, of which one was a member of the management and a sport organiser,” Shimutwikeni explained.
Convenors for sport codes covered by the NSSU such as athletics, basketball, chess, football, netball and volleyball were also elected at the congress on Friday.
Letufa Kamati (athletics), John Namhindo (basketball), Daniel Nghilundwa (chess), Bella Heita (netball), Ranhold Katunohange (soccer junior), Erastus Shilunga (soccer senior) and Kabuku Lilungwe (volleyball) were elected onto the exco to represent the said sport codes.
The NSSU’s national coordinator, Solly Duiker presided over the election process during the congress. He was assisted by two regional sport officers - Ignatius Nakakoti and Paulina Kasheeta.