ERC management committee members elected

19 Jun 2013 11:20
SWAKOPMUND, 19 JUN (NAMPA) - The Erongo Regional Council (ERC)?s management committee members were elected and inaugurated here on Wednesday.
The election process saw chairperson of the Erongo Regional Council, Hafeni Ndemula retain his position as chairperson of the committee.
Existing members John Nangolo and Paulus Xoagub will also serve another term on the management committee.
The election of the members came about after the amendment of the Regional Councils Act 1992 (No 22 of 1992), which states that a member of a management committee shall hold office for a period of two-and-a-half years.
The last election took place during December 2010 and as the two-and-a -half years have now expired, new management committee members had to be elected to serve the people of the Erongo Region.
Speaking during the ceremony, Erongo Region Governor Cleophas Mutjavikua stated that although the management committee elected in 2010 carried out their responsibilities diligently, this time around they should ?step it up a notch?.
?Time is of the essence and we have to focus on serious key performance areas. This means the focus of all their efforts for the next two-and-a-half years should be placed on unemployment eradication, infrastructure development, health and education for the people,? he said.
The governor went on to say all councillors serving on the ERC should have a ?to do? list every morning when they enter the office so that challenges can be addressed.
He added that programmes such as the Targeted Intervention Programme for Employment and Economic Growth (TIPEEG) is one of the key performance areas where extra focus should be placed.
Mutjavikua further mentioned that the implementation of the ERC?s budget remains a challenge.
?We end up not implementing it at the end of each financial year. This time around we need to say at the end of this year that we implemented 90 per cent of the budget,? he noted.
The Governor also mentioned that council members should focus on spearheading economic activities, especially those involving Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs) at local level.