Diplomatic cooperation flourishing: Pohamba

20 Feb 2014 12:00pm
WINDHOEK, 20 FEB (NAMPA) - President Hifikepunye Pohamba says diplomatic co-operation between Namibia and various countries around the world continues to flourish.
He said this during his annual New Year’s greeting ceremony with the diplomatic corps at State House on Wednesday.
“We are happy and honoured that more friendly countries continue to establish diplomatic missions in Namibia. Last year, I received 25 new Heads of Mission,” he beamed.
The president noted that two more missions - those of Turkey and the Islamic Republic of Iran - were established; while the Finnish Mission was upgraded to a full embassy.
“So far, Namibia has 114 accredited missions, of which 31 are resident missions,” he stated, adding that the diplomatic presence in Namibia is an essential ingredient for the strengthening of bilateral relations and cooperation for mutual benefits.
“For us, this is highly-valued,” he continued.
The Head of State also pointed out that he was honoured to receive the Heads of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) and the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), with whom he had fruitful discussions concerning programmes of cooperation between Namibia and the United Nations’ agencies.
Namibia also continues to play its role at regional, continental and international level, thus making its contributions towards the promotion and maintenance of diplomatic governance, world peace and security.
“We are pleased that democratic elections were successfully held in Madagascar towards the end of last year,” he said, adding that as chairperson of the Southern African Development Community (SADC)’s Organ on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation, Namibia successfully led the SADC Elections’ Observer Mission to Madagascar.
Pohamba said it is thus pleasing that the holding of democratic elections has become the norm rather than the exception on the continent.
Presidential elections will be held in five countries in the SADC region this year - Botswana, Malawi, Mozambique, South Africa and Namibia.
Cabinet ministers, deputy ministers, traditional leaders and other high-ranking government officials attended the event.