Kazenambo is back in Swapo Politburo

18 Feb 2014 15:20pm
WINDHOEK, 18 FEB (NAMPA) – Former Minister of Youth, National Service, Sports and Culture Kazenambo Kazenambo is back in the Swapo-Party politburo.
The return of the outspoken former minister and veteran politician to the ruling party's politburo was officially announced by Swapo-Party Secretary-General Nangolo Mbumba at a media conference held at the party's headquarters in Katutura here on Tuesday afternoon.
“In terms of Article Four of the Swapo-Party Constitution, as amended, the composition of the Political Bureau shall be 24 members.
In addition to the president, vice-president, secretary-general and deputy secretary-general, 18 members of the politburo shall be elected by the Swapo-Party Central Committee, and two other members shall be appointed by the president,” explained Mbumba.
He said in this regard, Kazenambo, being the next person on the list of the last political bureau election, was admitted as the newest member of the politburo in fulfilment of the above-mentioned provision of the party's constitution.
Kazenambo lost his ministerial position to Jerry Ekandjo, following a Cabinet reshuffle by President Hifikepunye Pohamba in December 2012.
Meanwhile, Mbumba stated that the Swapo-Party leadership has taken a decision that all party ‘machinery should be sufficiently and timeously oiled’ in order to ensure that the ruling party again emerges victorious in the upcoming Presidential and National Assembly elections, slated for November this year.