Kavango Regional Councillors sworn-in

10 Jun 2013 08:50
RUNDU, 10 JUN (NAMPA) - Nine constituency councillors in the Kavango Region were sworn-in to serve for the next two years by Rundu Magistrate Hellen Olaiya here on Monday.
Bonny Wakudumo was re-elected as chairperson of the Kavango Regional Council?s management committee.
Other management committee members are Joseph Sikongo of the Kahenge Constituency, Hildegard Mangundu of the Ndiyona Constituency as well as Frieda Siwombe of the Kapako Constituency.
Other councillors are Esra Kakukuru from the Mpungu Constituency, Kristian Muriki of the Mukwe Constituency, Michael Shikongo of the Rundu Rural East Constituency as well as Nimrod Muremi and Rosa Kavara of the Rundu Urban and Rural West constituencies, respectively.
Muremi and Kavara are both members of the National Council.
Whilst taking their oaths, the councillors swore to uphold and defend the Namibian Constitution, and to be diligent and fair in the performance of their duties.
Wakudumo urged for unity amongst his fellow councillors for the common good of the region, called on the people of the Kavango Region to work closely with their constituency councillors and to also attend community meetings whenever they are called.
The swearing-in ceremony was also witnessed by Kavango Regional Governor Ambassador Dr Samuel Mbambo, who called on the councillors to work hard and serve their electorate, especially during this time of drought.
Mbambo urged the councillors to ensure that people critically affected by drought correctly benefit from the drought relief aid.